Marathon (OMCKRA)

Founded in 1975, as the Ontario Marathon Canoe Racing Association (OMCKRA) was established to better organize canoe marathoning in Ontario. In recognition of the recent popularity of kayaking the “K” was added to form (OMCKRA) as it is now known. The organization represents both recreational and competitive marathon paddlers. OMCKRA sanctions a number of long distance paddle races across Ontario ranging from 10 kilometers in length to the grueling North Bay to Mattawa Canoe Race, which at 62 kilometers stands as the longest canoe race in Ontario. OMCKRA is proud to sanction a number of other historic canoe races including the Upper Jock River Canoe Race and the Canoe the Nonquon, both of which have been running since the 1960s. To support these great races, OMCKRA’s sanctioning activities includes providing rules, boat specifications, a safety policy, insurance and advice to race organizers.

Board of Directors

Joanne Bryant
President, Sprint

David Gillespie
Vice President, Whitewater

Kim Snell
Treasurer, Marathon

Charles Slade
Secretary, Sprint

Don Stoneman
Director, Marathon

Eric Betteridge
Director Whitewater

Botund Fejes
Director, Sprint

Stacey Ferris
Director, Marathon

Carolyn Pullen
Director, Whitewater

Canoe Kayak Ontario Canoe Kayak Ontario | ©